Treasure Island Flea Market – New to the Bay this weekend!

20110529-102757.jpg

It could not be a more beautiful setting for a flea market… I’m having a very late start today, but such a fun outing and I can already tell there are some goodies!

UPDATE (8 minutes later):
I’m so disappointed to report that the “goodies” I mentioned stopped short of the first two vendors I saw… this was much worse than I was expecting because the first day of the new Candlestick flea was actually really good. This is like a swap meet with new items (hats, Chinese embroidered silk accessories, big¬† shiny sculptures) and tons of food stands. Still very festive given the weather and setting, just not the right place for the serious shopper… Let’s put it this way, I was the only person in a fairly long line with a push cart. I might not try it again myself until I hear it’s changed otherwise. There were only a few “typical” flea market stands there with vintage finds, perhaps literally five or six, I’m curious where they all were because I went to Alemany earlier this morning and that market was empty as well… I thought they must’ve been on Treasure Island. I went zero to zero today. Bummer!

Leaving the Treasure Island flea and heading back to San Francisco:

20110529-105915.jpg

2 responses to “Treasure Island Flea Market – New to the Bay this weekend!

  1. Hopefully it picks up and their will be a greater variety of vendors… i was hoping for a bit more too. It’s got potential.

Leave a Reply

